PEIL magazine

Winter 2012

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 52 of 71

CONNACHT Tesco HomeGrown Ladies Connacht Senior Club Final St. Brigid's were perhaps hoping for 3rd time lucky as they have contested the Connacht Senior Final with the Mayo greats for the last three years. The first half was definitely a contest with the Rosommon side proving themselves as a match for Carnacon. Even though Cora Staunton bagged two goals in the first half and led her team to a fine start, St. Brigid's fought back and Sinéad Taylor's two goals kept them in the game. The score at half Noelle Tierney, Carnacon captain, receives the Tesco HomeGrown Connacht Senior Club Championship cup Carnacon 3-15 St. Brigid's 2-09 Mayo's Carnacon remain on top in Connacht as they won their 7th consecutive Connacht title against St. Brigid's of Kiltoom. time was 3-7 to 2-6, St. Brigid's were only 4 behind. In the second half however Carnacon began to ease their way clear of their challengers. With Claire Egan and Martha Carter dominating in the middle of the field, St. Brigid's could not maintain their first half form and as the game drew to a close, so did their hopes of 3rd time lucky. Player of the Match was awarded to Carnacon's Cora Staunton. Carnacon: M. Higgins, N. Hurst, N. Tierney, S. McGing, M. Corbett, C. McGing, A. Loftus, C. Egan, M. Carter, M. McGing, F. McHale (0-01), D. Hughes (0-01), N. Beegan (1-02), C. Staunton (2-08), A. Brennan (0-03). Sub used: S. Finnerty St. Brigid's: S. Finnerty, M. Kelly, F. Gavin, K. O'Boyle, C. O'Malley, L. Harrison, E. Kelly, M. Walsh, C. Grehan, A. Kelly (0-01), N. Nestor (0-01), A. O'Brien, J. Conlon (0-03), C. McHugh (0-01), S. Taylor (2-03). Referee: P.J. Rabbitte (Galway) TESCO HomeGrown Connacht Ladies Club Intermediate Final in their efforts to secure the Tesco Homegrown Connacht Intermediate Club Championship. The Galway side were served magnificently on the day by Annette Clarke and Louise Ward in midfield along with some fine forward play from Lisa Walsh, Lisa Gannon and Olivia Divilly. Hollymount had a slow start but it was Kilkerrin/Clonberne captain, Lisa Gannon, receiving the Intermediate cup Kilkerrin/Clonberne 1-11 Hollymount 2-05 Although the weather was horrendous and the pitch getting heavier by the minute the Galway women of the Kikerrin/Clonberne Club were tireless Mayo regular Yvonne Byrne who opened their scoring with 2 points after 20 minutes. Although the Galway women did give Hollymount some lifelines at various stages in the game, they were always the more dominant force and earned their victory and Provincial title. Player of the Match was awarded to Kilkerrin/Clonberne's Annette Clarke. Kilkerrin/Clonberne: L Murphy; A Miskell, A McStay, S Gormally; A Walsh, N Ward, A Mahoney; A Clarke (0-3), L Ward (0-1); O Divilly (1-4, 1 free), L Gannon (0-1), A Heverin; S Ward (A Boyle 39mins), C Heverin, L Walsh (0-2) Hollymount: P Gallgher; A Gill, R Tierney, Aishling Bell; C Tierney, C Walsh, E Farragher; S Tierney (0-1), A Carroll (S Nevin 24mins); Aimee Bell, Y Byrne (2-3, 1 free), S Delaney (D Delaney 50mins 0-1); A Shally (M Brett 51mins), C Carroll, E Murphy. Referee: P Fahy (Roscommon) TESCO HomeGrown Connacht Ladies Club Junior Final Annaghdown 1-09 St. Farnan's 0-06 Player of the Match – Niamh Duggan Annaghdown, after the Junior Final Winter 2012 The Tesco Homegrown Connacht Junior Club Final was a game that could have gone either way. St. Farnan's enjoyed a far superior start as they built up a 3 points to nothing lead in the first quarter. Annaghdown were kicking wide after wide at the other end and breathed a sigh of relief when a St. Farnan's goal was disallowed in the first half. At the stroke of half time Annaghdown suddenly found themselves in the ascendency as centre back Niamh Duggan somehow found the bottom corner of the net from some distance out. Half time score was 1-03 to 0-5. St. Farnan's tried to battle on in the second half but they simply could not get a foothold and managed only a single point. Annaghdown on the other hand enjoyed a more lucrative half adding on 6 further points to their half time standing. Player of the Match was awarded to Annaghdown's Niamh Duggan. St. Farnan's F Mulligan; V Dunleavy (C Cawley 20mins), V Mulligan, C Hannon; L Morrison, J Mulligan, G Reynolds; C Kearins, G Ruane; A Molloy, E McHugh (0-1), L Dunne; E Cawley (0-4) (A Dunne 56mins), I McNulty, S Kilgannon (0-1) Annaghdown: C Burke-Coen; A Meehan, M Murray, A Burke; J Burke, N Duggan (1-1, 1 free), O Scully; C Crowe, N Burke (0-1); N Comer, T Fahy (0-1), A Scully; M Goaley (0-3), G Barrett (0-3), A Lawless Referee: M Kenny (Mayo) 51

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

view archives of PEIL magazine - Winter 2012